NHL Hockey: March 2, St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

OK, so I have never shot hockey before, and I have heard it can be very difficult. I heard that “most” arenas have photographer’s holes in the glass for shooting and most times there are 4 “holes” at each end of the arena. Two holes on either side of the goal and two just in front of the goal just off to the sides. I wanted to get to the arena early so I could be assigned a good shooting position for the game so I got there a little bit less than 2 hours prior to the face-off.

Haha, wrong. I managed to find the correct gate to enter the arena and found the media center in the depths of the venue and set up my laptop and introduced myself to the other photographers there. I asked about shooting positions and found out that this arena had only one hole in the glass and only mid-level shooting positions. I wasn’t able to get a period for the hole because my deadline wasn’t as tight as the other guys and they were all shooting with “strobes” and I had to shoot ambient light. Ouch, this is going to be a challenging shoot on several levels.

I tried shooting from the mid-level position, through the glass and from the bench during warm-ups, this is what I got.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

When the team stood for the National Anthem and the spot-lights came up I thought this made a nice shot.

Remember to click-ity-click-ity on the “more” link below.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

With the goalie isolated by the spot-light, this shot just screamed “center-spread” to me so I had to shoot during the National Anthem. I meant no dis-respect to our flag, country or nation.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

Most of my mid-level position shots look like they could be shot by any old spectator and look somewhat “snap-shot-ish” so after the first period I changed positions to ice-level and shooting through the glass.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

I missed my focus point, but the shot looked nice so I used it anyway.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

Most times the shot of the back of someone’s head is going straight to the delete file, but this one works well.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

I always like a nice tight “sports portrait” and goalie masks make great shots.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

I was looking for more shots like this one taken during a face-off, but they seem few and far between.

NHL Hockey: St. Louis Blues at Phoenix Coyotes

I really wanted to get more on-ice peak-action shots, but from ice-level it was a tough “get.”

Leave a Reply

