NHL Hockey, March 10, 2010 – Vancouver Canucks vs Phoenix Coyotes

For my second NHL hockey game I was excited and hoped I could get more action shots and get better at shooting hockey. Yea right, like that is really going to happen. I think this is going to take a lot more practice. You may have heard the phrase “some days you are the bug and some days you are the windshield,” well this night I was the bug!

Getting killed by bad reflections from my side of the glass.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

To see more images, click the “more” link.

I was trying real hard to get some decent shots, maybe too hard.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

The Coyotes players seemed to be chasing the Canucks players most of the game.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Before the game I am allowed to shoot from the bench during the warmup period, so I try to take that opportunity to get some nice “sports portraits” and most of the time the focus is much better because I don’t have to shoot through the glass.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

This kid in the stands had this bad ass hockey helmet and very cool sign so the TV cameraman was grabbing some footage of him and I had a clear shot between the TV cameraman and the glass (that is what is giving the great dark vignette on the left and blur-glass reflection on the right side). This non-action shot was my favorite of the night.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

I tried shooting through the glass at the Coyotes’ end of the arena during the first period but kept struggling with very dirty glass and big blurry spot on my images because of it.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Sometimes the action in front of the goal can get a bit hot-N-heavy and if you are lucky you can get a shot of the goalie stopping a shot.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

I ended up trying just about every shooting position I could during the long night. The game didn’t start until 8:00 pm and went into overtime and a shoot-out so most of us didn’t get out of the arena until midnight.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

I even tried some wide shots like this one of the Canucks player taking a slap-shot from outside the zone.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Here one of the Canucks players ask the referee “how the wife and kids are doing?”

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Sometimes I am able to get a decent “sports portrait” through the glass, so I always look for shots like that.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

The game was tied, went into overtime and was still tied, so they go to a shoot-out format. Here one of the Canucks players takes his turn.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Another Canucks player takes a turn in the shootout.

NHL: MAR 10 Canucks at Coyotes

Sadly for the Canucks the Coyotes scored more goals in the shootout and won the game 4-3.

Leave a Reply

