More landscape, this time with real bits of nature for your pleasure

OK, OK, I know you people want more sports but humor me for a minute here and have a look at some nice landscape shots I took. I don’t claim to be Ansel Adams or G. Dan Mitchel or even uncle ralph with a point and shoot camera and I still feel like I’m learning how to shoot landscapes well, but I think I’m getting a little better with my landscapes so here are a few for you to look at.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

All of these shots were taken in Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows area on a single day visit. Now I know that shooting in the harsh mid-day sun will most likely not result in very good photos, but I did my best with the light I had.

Click the “more” link to see more beautiful landscapes.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

Some shots are from later in the day when the shadows are starting to get a bit longer, but still not the golden hour.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

I was working on getting more depth in my shots by keeping something in the foreground that will draw the viewer into the scene.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

Like some nice rocks and a river . . .

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

A bit of a “small animal’s perspective” shot.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

More rocks in the foreground for interest.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

How about some nice clouds reflected in the water?

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

I also tried to get a good mix of vertical and horizontal shots.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

I also tried changing focus from foreground to background with similar shots to see what effect it would give.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

I tried framing the shot differently to see if I could come up with better shots.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

OK, enough with the landscapes now it’s time to toss in some of those real bits of nature I talked about.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

Ah, yes the bugs have it.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

I loves me some rocks.

Yosemite National Park, Tuolumne Meadows

One thought on “More landscape, this time with real bits of nature for your pleasure

Leave a Reply

