NCAA Football – NAU at ASU Northern Arizona University at Arizona State University

I have been up to my elbows in cycling and fashion show images so I wanted to go back and post some images from a football game.

As a photographer I have good days and bad days. What, how can this be? Well, I’m not the greatest photographer in the world and sometimes I suck even more than I think I should. This was one of the games where I was having an “off” night, couldn’t seem to get a decent shot no matter how hard I tried. All night I just couldn’t seem to get focus lock, time the play correctly or just generally get a decent shot.

Sadly I’m sure I will have more of these games in the future, but in the end I got to practice my football photography try to learn from my mistakes. Here is some of the images I captured for the game.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

It was an exciting enough game with Arizona State Sun Devils quarterback Brock Osweiler (17) scrambling out of the pocket a few times just begging me to get a good shot, but I just couldn’t find the flow of the game.

See the rest of the images after the jump by clicking on the more link.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

I wanted to try to get a different angle of the Arizona State Sun Devil players entering the field, but mostly got fans in my shot.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

The game took place on September 11, so you would think that there would be a lot of extra activities associated with the anniversary of that date, but not a lot of extra stuff took place.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

I think this shot brings some of the emotion associated with September 11 to people’s minds.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

Sparkys Troopers were pumped and ready for the game.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

The band was stoked and playing loud and proud.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

The cheerleaders were as beautiful as ever.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

Beautiful smiling faces.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

Cute smiling cheerleaders always make a game nicer.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

OK, OK, I’ll get to some of the actual football images, sorry for the delay. Quarterback for the Arizona State Sun Devils, Brock Osweiler (17) calls a play at the line.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

Arizona State Sun Devils quarterback Brock Osweiler (17) makes the handoff to James Morrison (22).

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

“What do you mean holding, I wasn’t holding!”  Arizona State Sun Devils Lawrence Guy (50) talks with line judge Ken Leffle.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 11 NAU at ASU

Northern Arizona University Lumberjacks quarterback Chasen Stangel (8) drops back to pass.

I was disappointed in myself for not getting very many good shots during the game, but I guess all I can do is learn from my mistakes and try to do better next time. I know there are some guys out there that never have an “off” night, I’m just not at that level yet. Maybe some day.

3 thoughts on “NCAA Football – NAU at ASU Northern Arizona University at Arizona State University

  1. I think your photos are nicely done. I shoot a lot of high school sports so I could not imagine trying to shoot at the college or pro level. I find myself looking through the viewfinder for that iconic sports image. By the time the signal travels from my brain to my index finger the image I wanted has changed. For me the key is to anticipate the image I’m hoping for and praying that it happens when the shutter is open.

  2. Mike, the only difference between high school football and College football is the lighting at night games. Really, it’s the same game, sure the players are shorter but I have shot high school football and sometimes it’s much more fun and less stressful than shooting College football.

    Maybe you were just having an “off” night? Just keep practicing and having fun and it will come.

    • Alpha:

      Amen on the lighting. It can be horrendous. Plus, I shoot Olympus which is completely challenging itself in low light. I did shoot last night at a state soccer final at Campo Verde in Gilbert. That field has the best lighting of any field I’ve shot at by far.

Leave a Reply

