NASCAR Camping World Truck Series – Lucas Oil 150 from Phoenix International Raceway

Switching gears from shooting beautiful models on the runway to racecars on the track. Utilizing a different skill set and different parameters of image selection is a bit of a challenge for me at times and thankfully the big NASCAR weekend ramps up with smaller, less popular events before the final crescendo of the NASCAR Sprint Cup race on Sunday. These smaller races give me a chance to get back into the loud noise, long days in the sun, tons of walking, looking for interesting shots that not everyone gets and generally trying to push my photographic abilities to new levels.

Sometimes it works, and sometimes I just get the same old stuff.

NASCAR: NOV 11 Camping World Truck Series - Lucas Oil 150

In the late afternoon, when the shadows get long and the light turns a little golden you can get some nice textures and look to cars on track, but that doesn’t last long and it’s only a practice session for the night race.

You can see more images by clicking the (more) link below.

NASCAR: NOV 11 Camping World Truck Series - Lucas Oil 150

As the afternoon sun sets it’s not only the drivers that have to deal with the quickly changing light, but the photographers job can get a bit challenging here as well.

NASCAR: NOV 11 Camping World Truck Series - Lucas Oil 150

Sometimes you can get good shots in the pits of the crew checking tires or preparing the trucks, but most of the time the crew has the hood up and teams tend to go a little bit bonkers if you point a camera anywhere near the engine. For this shot I stuck my camera with a wide-angle lens right in the face of one of the crew checking the tires. I like the shot, it works for me but I wish the other photographer who was shooting other stuff didn’t walk right through my shot.

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

Once the sun goes down for the actual race the lighting at the track is really ugly, dark spots, black-holes, white-balance that is all over the map and hard to correct for, and generally difficult shooting conditions. You work through it and try to get reasonable images. Looking back there are a ton of different angles and more creative things I could have done, but at the time my creativity wasn’t working so I resorted to just recording the scene.

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

I’m not real excited about my night-time truck race shots and I know I could have, and should have done better, but as I said my creativity wasn’t working that night, so this is what I got.

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

Because of the bad lighting and my lack of creativity, I didn’t get too many shots and got even fewer shots that I’m really proud of.

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

It would be nice to get a crash-sequence or some really great shot, but you either have to guess where the action might happen and spend the entire race there or just get lucky. I didn’t get lucky or shoot the entire race from one spot, but I did get the aftermath of Ron Hornaday Jr.’s crash with all the smoke, that’s something, right?

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

Clint Bowyer won the race and I got a few good victory lane shots, but it’s dark and you have to use a flash, and blah, blah, blah. Once again my creativity failed me and I just got the standard shots.

Another thing the photographers have to deal with for this race is the fact that the race winner is more than likely different from the guy that has clinched the championship for the entire season at this race so, really you have to be at two different victory lane celebrations, one in victory lane and one setup out on pit road.

NASCAR: NOV 12 Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150

In this case Todd Bodine earned enough points at the end of this race to clinch the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series 2010 Championship so you have to try to grab a few frames of that too.

Leave a Reply

