NCAA Basketball: November 20, 2010 University of Alabama-Birmingham at Arizona State University

It doesn’t seem like there are many NASCAR fans out there, at least they aren’t looking for my blog posts related to NASCAR racing. With that in mind I’ll post some College hoops action. This was the home-opener for the Arizona State University Sun Devils and the first time since last season that I have shot basketball, so my skills are a little bit rusty.

I felt like I was having one of those games where the referees are always standing right in front of me and blocking my shots, so I guess I picked the wrong spot on the baseline to shoot from. You would think I would have figured it out by not.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

This turned out to be the shot I liked the best because of the emotion and expressions on the players faces. Aaron Johnson (1) of the University of Alabama-Birmingham Blazers fights for basket under the rim.

See the rest after the jump.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

I tend to like tighter shots of good action, not always easy for me to get. In this shot, Aaron Johnson (1) of the University of Alabama-Birmingham Blazers drives hard under the basket.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

I’m not sure how I feel about cutting off players feet and cropping some shots tighter, but if you shoot wide enough to include the feet sometimes you tend to lose the faces, or at least that does not seem to be the center of attention of the shot. In this shot, Kyle Cain (5) of the Arizona State Sun Devils drives under the basket looking for an opening in the UAB defenses.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

Most of the time I shoot basketball vertical, but at times I try to force myself to try to get some reasonable horizontal shots because not every basketball story fits in a vertical format. Jamarr Sanders (2) of the University of Alabama-Birmingham Blazers drives toward the basket.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

I look for interesting non-action shots before and during the game, sometimes I find a few, and sometimes I get nothing. I kinda liked this one.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

It’s not real difficult to get a nice clean shot of a player running down the court with the ball, so shots like this one are a somewhat less than exciting, but for some reason I like them.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

Jamarr Sanders (2) of the University of Alabama-Birmingham Blazers goes up for a shot after drawing a foul. After drawing a foul, well that would explain why all the other players are just standing there and watching him take the shot. It’s after the whistle, but you can’t hear it in this image.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

Again I cut off the feet, and I wish I had shot wider, but I was focusing on the players faces and to me that is the key, but I think I need to compose these shots better. Keala King (21) of the Arizona State Sun Devils looks for an opening in the UAB defense.

NCAA BASKETBALL: NOV 20 UAB at Arizona State

One last non-action shot to round out the set.

Leave a Reply

