24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow in Scottsdale Arizona on Nov. 7, 2010

This is the second time I have attended one of these Pow-Wow events and I love, love, love the history and tradition associated with all the things these Native Americans do at these events. I’m not a huge fan of the backgrounds because they make getting nice clean shot very difficult, but I guess if it was that easy everyone would attend and take great pictures. As it stands you really, and I mean really have to work to make great images at these things.

If you see this post and are in the pictures, you can contact me to purchase prints by clicking on the request prints link on the right.

On with the show:

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

This guy had some really cool makeup and great traditional costume so I really wanted to get a good shot of him.

See the rest of the images of these great Native American dancers by clicking the more link below.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

This young woman was very beautiful and an excellent dancer. I liked the way all the decorations on her costume are flying in the air as she is dancing.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

When the guys dance that is the main event and very exciting to see. The colors, the costumes and the speed of the dancing are just intense.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

I’m a goofy-looking white guy so at times these people look at me with some trepidation, but really I have the utmost respect for Native American culture and the things they do.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

I would love to sit down and interview some of these people and talk to them about the history and tradition involved with all this and learn some of the deeper meanings behind symbols.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

The singing and the drumming are so amazing, although not as traditional looking to watch, but the sounds is haunting.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

In a lot of ways I felt like I was invading these people’s privacy when I was sticking my camera in their faces, but like I said massive respect and admiration for the skills and traditional culture involved with the entire scene.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

The images just don’t convey the intensity of full experience, the sights, the sounds, the vibe.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

OK, back to the dancing. I find the bead work on some of the costumes with such detail it just blows my mind the massive work involved.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

The woman dancers are very fluid with their movements and fun to watch.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

I just don’t see many younger kids that are as proud of their cultural traditions as some of the kids at these events.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

This young man had a fantastic costume and was an outstanding dancer.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

More amazing bead work.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

Another shot of the painted face guy, such a cool traditional costume.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

Another amazing traditional woman in full dress.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

What can I say, this stuff is off the charts.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

Hard to believe this level of detail and cultural traditions are happening without more media attention.

24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow on Nov. 7, 2010 in Scottsdale Arizona

5 thoughts on “24th Annual Red Mountain Eagle Pow-Wow in Scottsdale Arizona on Nov. 7, 2010

  1. Excellent photos. FYI – that’s my son, Kenneth, the one where you state: “What can I say, this stuff is off the charts.”
    My son is 15 years old and he loves to dance.

    Mary Shirley

    • Mary,

      You should be very proud of your son and his dancing abilities, also the way he is carrying on the Native American traditions and history are very important.

  2. Excellent photos. FYI – that’s my son, the one where you state: “What can I say, this stuff is off the charts.”

  3. I love your pictures, there’s a lot for you to learn about these dancers however. The woman with silver cones on her dress is a jingle dress dancer-not traditional like you state. Also the women with shawls are fancy shawl dancers. The guys with very colorful outfits are grass dancers. Traditional means old style and are more plain looking and is often made out of buckskin but more commonly cloth because it’s much lighter. Also I think it is extremely important that you do not refer to them as costumes. Costumes are something you wear for fun to pretend to be something you are not. Regalia is what we like to call them instead. Because they are part of our heritage and true identity. Some of these dances or songs could be very sacred and spiritual so try to make sure you always have permission from the people you are taking pictures of. Very often there is a fee to take pictures so always check with the MC hosting on powwow ettiquette. VERY BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS!!! Chi Miigwetch, Amanda McCoy ~Ojibwe Nation Jingle Dress Dancer

    • Thanks for the info. Amanda. I refer to things as “traditional” because they are not “modern” according to my best guess and I am guessing they come from “traditions” that are handed down over generations, therefore I refer to them as “traditional.”

      If I am not using the proper terms it is not out of disrespect, only me using the terms and knowledge that are easily available to me.

      Where can I learn more about this stuff?

Leave a Reply

