Lucas Oil Off-Road Series Round 15 and Challenge Cup practice and qualifying on Dec. 10th, 2010 at Firebird

I don’t know if I mentioned it in my last post, but this was the first time I have shot off-road racing. There are a couple of other photographers in the area that shoot off-road stuff and I have looked at their work for inspiration, but no matter how hard I try my stuff still sort of just looks like “my” stuff. I guess over the years I have developed a “style” without really knowing just what “my style” is exactly.

I keep trying to capture good sellable images and maybe my images are more feature related or more journalistic in their approach or maybe I’m just winging it based on images I found interesting in the past.

Whatever the reasons, here are some more from the Motorsports mud-fest filled weekend.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

I’ll post these at their big size because I think they have more impact that way. I call this one “flat-out sideways.”

See more muddy images after the jump.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

“Here’s mud in your eye.”

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

“Dancing across the whoops.”

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

Todd LeDuc gives me the “peace” symbol after finishing 4th in Round 15 racing.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

Yeah, I know it’s another panning shot and maybe not as cool as the first one but I really like how my skills at panning shots improved shooting this type of racing.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

This is what it looks like right at the exact moment that you land your truck after getting a little out of shape going over the big jump. Then the front tires dig in and the driver pulls the truck into the turn as if nothing ever happened, but right at that moment it really looks like things are going to go from bad to worse in a blink of an eye.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

Lifting that inside front tire through the turn and tossing a ton of dirt and mud in the air in this shot of Todd LeDuc it what makes this image for me.

Lucas Oil Off Road Series Dec. 10, 2010 from Firebird Raceway

Two trucks put the power down coming out of turn one as the sun sets on a fun-filled exciting weekend of shooting. I’m still picking mud and dirt off me and my gear.

Leave a Reply

