How about some FOOTBALL! – UCLA vs Arizona State Sun Devils

This post in going back to November 26, 2010 but because College football bowl games are upon us I thought I’d post up some football images. This was my best game for capturing images because it was a day game starting at 1:30 pm in the afternoon. For me getting the opportunity to shot a day game is both a treat and a challenge because you have lots of light and that can be a difficult thing to overcome and very helpful in capturing your images all at the same time.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

As you can see from this image, shooting in the bright mid-day sun can leave the players eyes in dark shadows and blown highlights on white uniforms can be a real problem. In this shot UCLA Bruin’s quarterback Richard Brehaut drops back to pass and if I could have gotten more of his eyes in the shot I think it would bring more intensity to the image.

See more bright sunny images by clicking on the more link below.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

You can kind-of see the eye of Arizona State Sun Devils quarterback Brock Osweiler as he waits for the snap.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

There are ways to use the bright mid-day sun to your advantage but you have to work to find cool reflections and look around to see how the light plays off of things like I did here with a band member’s tuba.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

In this shot I was pointing my camera almost directly into the sun which never really gives you the results you want, but I managed to find a very cool reflection in this player’s helmet/face shield and you can just see his eyes peaking through.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

The way the light played off the feathered hats of the ASU band and the repeated pattern of this image which was also shot directly into the sun helped make it a winner for me. I noticed another photographer who I respect as a very good photographer captured almost the same image and posted on his blog, I think we both did a nice job with this image, don’t you?

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

Notice how the sun divides the UCLA quarterback in half in this shot, I had to forget about the highlights and just let them get all blown-out and expose for the shadows (his face and eyes) to give this image some drama.

I can’t forget about the cheerleaders or spirit squad, you know I’m looking for all those flying-hair and beautiful woman shots before the game.

The lovely ladies of the ASU Spirit Squad had to open their eyes wide to the bright sun just like the rest of us, and it was bright.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

If this is 3D you know you won’t get the full 3D experience without the glasses and it seems only of the woman of the ASU band in this shot is getting the full 3D experience.

Wait, what’s that you say? There is a football game going on over there while I’m pointing my camera at all the beautiful woman, band and other stuff, well I’m easily distracted by shiny things, so on with the show.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

UCLA Bruin’s Derrick Coleman (33) takes the hand-off and looks for a hole in the defense.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

The hole in the defense he found was littered with bodies requiring him to pull some “OJ Simpson in the airport” style leaping over players to gain yardage. It made for a nice shot, notice the ASU defender’s hand on his right foot, ouch! that looks like it could hurt if the defender doesn’t move his hand before he comes down.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

A real nice shot as UCLA Bruin’s quarterback Richard Brehaut (12) scrambles away from Arizona State University Sun Devil Jamarr Robinson (55). Can you see the turf falling out of Jamarr’s left hand? Now that’s what I call grabbing a piece of the action.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

I even took some time to try a few panning shots at this game, with all the bright sun I thought I’d have a little fun with it. In this shot Arizona State Sun Devils Deantre Lewis (25) gains yardage on a kickoff return.

Oh sorry, I got distracted again. One of the beautiful UCLA cheerleaders shows me how smooth she got her armpit. I don’t normally like “armpit” shots but this woman is attractive enough to make it less noticeable and it’s the only good UCLA cheerleader shot I got.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

I love the intensity on the faces in this shot. Of course this is my crop and some magazine photo editor may want it cropped differently so I submitted the entire image at full resolution for editors that want to make their own cropping decisions.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

Doesn’t have the same impact as the tight crop, but maybe that is just me.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

I managed to get some nice lighting and reflections in a few shots, in a shot like this when the players have those shields to protect their eyes sometimes it can give you fits and make getting good shot almost impossible, but here I got lucky.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

This looks like it’s gonna hurt when the ASU defender flattens the UCLA quarterback.

NCAA FOOTBALL: NOV 26 UCLA at Arizona State

I had a fun day shooting in the bright sun.

Leave a Reply

