BCS National Championship Football Game – NCAA College Football Bowl Game

I know January 10, 2011 seems like a lifetime ago for some people, and I have to admit the game is all but a faded memory for me as well, but I thought I would post up some of my images from the NCAA College football game.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

There was a time when I was standing on the sidelines of a football game and one of the other photographers asked me how my game was going and I responded by saying that I wasn’t having a very good game and I wasn’t getting any good shots. At the time there was another photographer standing within earshot whose work I admire, and I’m sure that photographer overheard my response.

Long story, short I wondered to myself if some of the other photographers who have been at this much longer than me ever have a “bad” game?

I thought about it for a while and have come to the conclusion that even some of the well-respected pros do in fact have “bad” games every now and again.

For shame, how dare I speak the truth.

Click on the more link below to read more of the story and see more BCS National Championship Football Game images.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

Some days you are the bug, and some days you are the windshield!

That’s just how it is. You do all you can to ensure that you get the shots of the big key plays, but the reality of it is that unless you can be everywhere, all the time, you may miss a shot or two. True dat.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

There is as much art to covering a football game, as there is science.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I just liked the zoom-filter I put on this image, maybe for the “cheese” factor, I don’t know.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

Sometimes I manage to get good “story-telling” images and “craft” good photographs during the game, and sometimes I just get the same old stuff.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I know I’m not the greatest photographer in the world, heck I may not even be that good of a photographer but at least I’m trying to capture the right kind of images and working towards making a living at this.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I love photography first and I’m starting to get better, or more comfortable at covering events, but I don’t know how to get to the next level?

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I think I do a reasonable job of capturing good editorial images, but sales are very low so maybe I’m not doing anything right.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

Maybe I just need to find a good mentor in another photographer or a good photo editor to provide some assignments with direction rather than just shooting stock.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

The thing is, if I’m just shooting for stock than there really is no point in shooting game action, I could just stand there and watch the game with a great seat on the sidelines.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I would rather shoot game action and learn to be better at that type of photography than just standing around watching, and like I said I love photography.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I guess that is the problem, I’m not shooting the “right” kinds of pictures for the “right” kind of agency.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

Maybe that is why there seems to be a bit of a disconnect between the images I shoot and the images that sell. I think I just had an epiphany. Do I need to adjust my shooting style or do I need to find a better outlet for the style of images I shoot?

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I love images like this, there is just so much going on, check the band guy on the far left, he is yelling his head off.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

This may not be a very good stock shot, but I love the story it tells.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I wish I could figure out how to make a living shooting the type of images I tend to shoot.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

This is more challenge and a thrill to try to capture to me than standard warm-up stock shots.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I don’t know, maybe I should just give up and leave this kind of stuff to the professionals.

NCAA FOOTBALL: JAN 10 BCS Championship Game - Auburn v Oregon

I mean it’s pretty clear that I have now idea what I’m doing and should just stick to rocket surgery or something simple like that.

Leave a Reply

