Phoenix Comicon – Freaks and Geeks invade Downtown Phoenix

I have to admit I am a bit of a geek myself because I love comics, graphic novels, anime, Star Wars, Star Trek and some aspects of horror films if they are done well. OK I even like some of the bad horror films just for their campy entertainment value.

Over the Memorial Day weekend there was a comic book convention held at the Phoenix convention center and my wife and I spent some time wandering around the convention floor checking out the people in costumes, books, artists and artwork, of course I brought my camera along. Here are a few of the sights that caught my eye.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Some of the images and artwork were fantastic and really stood out for me. It’s not always easy to capture a good photo of a framed print displayed on the dark convention floor, you need to use a flash and deal with the reflections in the glass which causes glare and generally it’s somewhat difficult, but I had to make it work.

To see more of the interesting sights from the 2011 Phoenix Comicon, click the more link below.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

I didn’t see any photographers from the local papers covering this event which from what I understand was a big success for the organizers. I approached most of my shots from a journalistic angle but there were some real lighting challenges to capturing photos from the convention floor.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

I was really digging on this Zombie Survival Guide artwork and specifically the graphic for Lesson #4 – Blades don’t need reloading.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Here is a more detailed shot of that graphic. Outstanding images!

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Of course there were some beautiful ladies there and I made sure to point my camera their way as well.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Oh my! I thought this was supposed to be a family friendly event? All kinds of not-PG rated things are going through my head right now.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

This beautiful woman was promoting an online comic book and helped drive traffic into the booth for a closer look.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Another lovely lady who was gracious enough to let me photograph her as part of my coverage of the 2011 Phoenix Comicon.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Some of the artists were creating works just for the convention and it was fun to see all the great in-progress images on the convention floor.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

There were a few artists that would create a nice caricature of you as you posed for them.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

There were a ton of different graphic styles on display by local and national independent artists and publishers.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Everything from life-sized banners of movie characters to graphic novels geared towards younger readers could be found at the 2011 Phoenix Comicon.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

This artist had a wonderful style and look to the illustrations with nice bright colors that would interest any young reader.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Check out this “riding the Phoenix” illustration. I really enjoyed seeing all the different graphic styles on display at the convention.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Traditional comic book art as a signed print would make a great father’s day gift for that special comic book fan dad.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

This smartly dressed wolf was very moved to see his friends depicted in such fantastic paintings.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

I love all the Todd McFarland toys, and the rock band Kiss so this display was calling my name for sure.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

There were many different types of products on display at the convention, some with a real unique hand-made feel to them.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

There was a good selection of horror-related items for people to enjoy at the 2011 Phoenix Comicon.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Zombies and war go together like peanut butter and jelly, like jellied brains that is!

Phoenix Comicon 2011

I only saw a few people at the convention wearing horror-related costumes. Most of the costumes were either Star Wars or Star Trek related.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

It’s everybody’s favorite little green guy . . .    . . . not Kermit the Frog, but Yoda.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Who wouldn’t want to take home a nice life-sized carbon-frozen Han Solo. This would look great in the entryway don’t you think?

Phoenix Comicon 2011

An excellent selection of Star Wars characters were represented at the convention.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

Bounty hunter costumes from Star Wars were popular this year.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

This artist was using a print and the image from his iPhone to create an illustration for a lucky fan on the convention floor.

Phoenix Comicon 2011

This Spock poster created with Lego’s was selling for twenty-eight hundred dollars, ouch. A little rich for my blood.

That’s all I got. I can’t wait for next years convention.

Leave a Reply

