Ted Nugent hunts down Phoenix Arizona and kills it!

Yes, Ted Nugent, aka: The Motorcity Madman, aka: Uncle Ted, stormed into Phoenix Arizona on June 28th and unleashed his gonzo madness for fans. This year uncle Ted brought a better lighting setup and a familiar face in band mate Derek St. Holmes who was an original member of the band and provided key singing and guitar roles on many fan favorites like Free for All, Cat Scratch Fever, and so many more.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

As a photographer, I am still restricted to the first three songs and not allowed to use a flash, but who would want to use a flash for this stuff anyway.

See the rest of my images of Ted Nugent killing Phoenix by clicking on the more button below:

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

The lighting was still a bit on the “flat” side and didn’t include many colorful or unique opportunities to capture “colored light” images.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I had to craft my images based on the things Mr. Nugent would do, body position or expression rather than relying on dramatic lighting schemes to help make the images “pop.”

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

There was some lighting built into the drum-riser that provided some back-lit opportunities, but being stuck in one spot in front of the round stage made getting the perfect angle somewhat difficult. I did the best I could considering the conditions.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I tried to work fast and capture uncle Ted’s personality and showmanship with my images.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

The stage wasn’t huge and Ted didn’t venture out from behind the stage monitors at all during the first three songs, so I did my best to capture the “feel” of the show.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

A few somewhat unique shots presented themselves during the first three songs and I tried to capitalize on chances.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

There were a few times when I was able to capture Derek St. Holmes (left) Ted Nugent (center) and Greg Smith (right) all together, too bad I couldn’t get the drummer in there too.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I wasn’t sure how tight some of my shots should be, if you can’t see all of the guitar, and you don’t know who Ted Nugent is, the shot might not be of any use.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

Ted still had that hat on that made shadows on his eyes, so I had to work with that issue, but the lighting was much better than last year so I didn’t have to fight the “hat shadow” issues too much.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I messed up a few shots like this one where Ted was in his “classic” Ted Nugent pose but I cut off the head of the guitar which is not the best thing to do.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I managed to grab a few frames with some breathing room around them with expressions that I liked.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

Another good group shot with Ted giving a great expression.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

Classic Ted Nugent, my framing is a bit funky on this shot with the head of the guitar being cut off, but hey what can I say, I was trying to work fast.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I wonder if this pose hurts the old man’s back? Another “classic” Ted Nugent pose.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

All in all I think I had a reasonable good night shooting, and getting to stay and watch the rest of the show was fun also.

Ted Nugent, "The Motor City Madman" performs for fans

I always love covering these shows and would love to cover more shows and a variety of different performers, so if you have a show that needs covering, contact me.

2 thoughts on “Ted Nugent hunts down Phoenix Arizona and kills it!

    • Thanks, I used a 70-200 f2.8 and a second body with a 24-70 f2.8. I think with the lighting I managed to get my ISO down to 1000 which considering the lights changing all the time, 1000 ISO is not bad for concerts.

Leave a Reply

