NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Yea, more football. With the expected rain the photo room at the stadium was all a buzz, would it rain? Would it rain enough to make mud? Or would it rain just enough to get our gear wet and be annoying? The question was not really IF it would rain, but WHEN it would rain and how much. This being Phoenix Arizona most of the photographers, including myself, don’t have rain gear, after all it doesn’t rain much here and rain gear is expensive.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

You can see the rain in this first shot, not enough to make mud, but enough to get our gear wet AND be annoying. Before the game I broke out the plastic bags and tape for my two cameras and put the baggies taped to lens hoods in my pack just in case. It turns out they were helpful.

See the rest of the game story and more of my images by clicking the “more” link below.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

This shot is very similar to the first shot, just less quarterback, more defender/receiver.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I spent a lot of time pointing my camera at the Missouri Tigers QB James Franklin (1) because he was scrambling out of the pocket and running the ball all night.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

The fans were so fired up for this game and so loud that Mizzou quarterback James Franklin had to run up and down the line calling the play several times so the players could hear him. I thought it made for some nice frames.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Like I said, the ASU defense had his receivers covered all night forcing James Franklin out of the pocket scrambling or keeping the ball and trying to gain yardage by running it himself.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

The Mizzou Tigers QB was trying everything, over the middle, denied, around the outside, that’s not working, this is going to be a long game for Mizzou.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

There were a few key penalties in this game also, like this one where Missouri Tigers Luke Lambert (33) looks to the officials for a call.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

The crowd was so loud that there were a few times when even Arizona State Sun Devils QB Brock Osweiler (17) had to motion to his receiver.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Meanwhile things were grinding away in the trenches.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I tried to grab a few nice sports-portraits during the game as well.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Another nice sports-portrait of a Mizzou player.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Sometimes it seems like all the key plays are taking place on the other side of the field from where you position yourself you have to remember to shoot-through-the-play so you can capture Arizona State Sun Devils Cameron Marshall (6) and Aaron Pflugrad (4) celebrating Pflugrad’s touchdown.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

It was black-out night with the Arizona State Sun Devils in their all-black uniforms and even the student fans were dressed in all black, not the best for pictures, but you make it work.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

This fan took the time to craft a really nice sign, and I rewarded them by cutting off their head in the shot. I’m harsh like that.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I can’t help but pay attention to the beautiful Arizona State Sun Devils Spirit Squad.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I’m a normal red-blooded American male, what can I say. Hey look, pretty girls . . .

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I’m equal opportunity, I even pay attention to the Sun Devils majorette.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

What, oh sorry, back to the football.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Oh yea, I can’t forget about the equally attractive Missouri Tigers ladies now can I?

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

OK, back to the football game, let’s get down to business.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Missouri Tigers quarter James Franklin (1) is back at work trying to move the ball against the Arizona State defense.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Maybe if we try some passing plays?

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Missouri Tigers QB James Franklin (1) scrambles around looking for an open receiver.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

In the end the Sun Devils would win the game in overtime and the win would clear the bench as the entire team runs onto the field to celebrate.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

The “scrum” that takes place on the field after a big win is not a place for the faint-of-heart.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Arizona State Sun Devils Mike Willie gives me the perfect cover-shot, and I leave suitable space for the masthead at the top.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

I tried to work my way into the “scrum” and get a nice shot of the winning quarterback, but I was still lugging around a 300 and using my 70-200 second body for this shot.

NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

Overall I think I had a good night, I liked this frame of Arizona State Sun Devils winning quarterback Brock Osweiler applauding his teammates.

4 thoughts on “NCAA FOOTBALL: SEP 09 Missouri at Arizona State

  1. Great shots! I was on the sidelines during the first half, not the second. When I got home to upload my pictures I was amazed at how great their uniforms looked. All maroon this weekend!

Leave a Reply

