More of me playing catch up with some NCAA College Basketball from early 2012

Shooting College basketball can be fun and exciting, but not always the easiest thing to shoot, the action can be very fast-paced keeping even the best photographers on their toes trying to follow the action.

12 January 2012: Carrick Felix (0) of the Sun Devils drives toward the basket during an NCAA Basketball game between the Arizona State Sun Devils and the Oregon University Ducks at Wells Fargo Arena in Tempe AZ. The Oregon Ducks defeated the Arizona State Sun Devils 65-58.

I love when the Oregon Ducks come to town, they are a fun team to watch and always make the Sun Devils work for every inch of the floor.

To see more of the action between the Oregon Ducks and the Arizona State Sun Devils click the link below:

Sometimes I feel like I am shooting a little on the tight side so for this game I wanted to get a few wider shots that would give more of an overall view of the court.

I am, however always mesmerized by the ASU Sun Devils Spirit Squad and my attention is often drawn away from the game and I am forced to click away at the beautiful ladies as they provide entertainment for the fans.

I’m sorry, I am easily distracted and I have a bit of a short attention span, what  . . .      Basketball game, oh yea.

Back to some overall court views, this time with the Ducks on offense.

I felt like I was getting some good emotion type shots at this game when the Ducks huddled up at the start of the second half there were some interesting faces to capture.

12 January 2012: Tyrone Nared (31) gets excited about a call with Olu Ashaolu (5) of the Oregon Ducks during an NCAA Basketball game between the Arizona State Sun Devils and the Oregon University Ducks at Wells Fargo Arena in Tempe AZ. The Oregon Ducks defeated the Arizona State Sun Devils 65-58.

When Tyrone Nared got excited I was clicking away like a mad man trying to get that great emotional shot I was looking for, I’d say this one is not bad, not great, but not bad either.

With some games I feel like I am struggling to get the kinds of shots I see in my head and just can’t seem to get the “shot” of the game that I am looking for.

I believe each team has a different playing style and personality depending on the style and personality of the team they are playing against. I think this is going to be one of those games where, when all is said and done I don’t feel like I did a very good job getting good shots.

If all else fails and I don’t want to come away from the game empty-handed I can always grab a few stock-type shots of players at the line.

Trent has been asked to carry the ASU team this year and often has to answer for the team’s shortcomings at the end of the night in the press room.

That has got to be a tough job having to sit there while everybody is asking “why do you think you lost the game?” What is Trent going to say, “um, because we didn’t put the ball in the basket as many times as the other team” I mean really how do you answer questions like that.

How about a nice stock type shot of Jordan Bachynski (13).

Or maybe a fun little motion-blur shot of the Arizona State University Sun Devils band.

I know you want to see more Sun Devils Spirit Squad dancers, so here is a nice shot to top off this post.

Leave a Reply

